Regular Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District Board of Trustees August 1, 2023 5:30 p.m.

Board Members in Person Dr. Ed Sivak, President Frank Figgers, Member Cynthia Thompson, Member Mitch McGuffey, Member Attorneys and Administrative Staff cr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent Dorian Turner, Board Attorney Larrissa Moore, ESQ., General Counsel Dr. Michael Cormack, Deputy Supt. Earl Burke, Chief Operations Officer William M. Merritt, IV., Chief of Staff Elem., Middle & High School Asst. Supt.

Board Members Absent Letitia S. Johnson, Member

Board Members via Teleconference Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, Member Barbara Hilliard, Vice-President

Secreta; y to the Board Rosalind Williams

- I. <u>Call to Order:</u> Ed Sivak, Jr., Ph.D., Board President, called the Regular Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District to order on August 1, 2023, at 5:30 P. M.
- II. <u>Establishment of Quorum</u>: A quorum was established as five (5) members, namely, Dr. Ed Sivak, Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, Barbara Hilliard, Mitch McGuffey, Frank Figgers and Cynthia Thompson were present or participated via video/teleconference. Letitia Johnson was absent from the meeting.
- III. <u>Adoption of Agenda:</u> Mitch McGuffey moved that the Board adopt the agenda as presented; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson, Mitch McGuffey and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none.
- IV. Reading and Approving of the Minutes:

August 1. 2023 Regular Board Meeting Minutes: The Board voted to approve item a Cynthia Thompson moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: Policy Issues:

) address the Board was moved to executive session.

s):

m(s):

RFP 2023-10, Professional Development and Coaching for CT3: The Board voted to approve item a. Frank McGuffey seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

- c. Approval of the Renewal Agreement between Finalsite, formerly Blackboard and the Jackson Public School District (JpSD): The Board voted to approve item c. Mitch McGuffey moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Or. H.airston, Mitch McGuffey, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- d. <u>Approval of the Renewal Agreement between AccelerateMS Career Coach Grant Adnu.nistered by Central Mississippi Planning and Development District and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD)</u>: The Board voted to approve item d. Frank Figgers moved; Mitch McGuffey seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- Approval of the Consulting Agreement betweea Beth West Roach and the Jackson <u>Public School District (JPSD)</u>: The Board voted to approve item e. Mitch McGuffey moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard: votes cast against the motion: pone. Fr. M.

Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

- d. <u>Approval to Award Bid 3238 to Prairie Farms Dairy:</u> The Board voted to approve item d. Mitch McGuffey moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- e. <u>Approval to Award Bid 3239 to Sunrise Produce:</u> The Board voted to approve item e. Mitch McGuffey moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- X. Consent Agenda Items Ge•neral:
 - a. <u>Approval of District to District Transfer (Incoming/Outgoing):</u> The Board voted to approve item a. Frank Figgers moved; Mitch McGuffey seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston, Mitch McGuffey, and Barlappa.ogil MFigg/Motes cast amainst the

			дЦÔ	r	F.	vstoringXMr RM	A	v	↔MB®	Hil
XI.	Consent Agenda	Items -								

Ed sive	
	-

=

Cynthiu illungan y Dong thau gra